When testing a communication, you might see that some content doesn't change as intended. Outdated content might include an image that won't change even though you just inserted a new image, or a portal page that won't show the questions in a questionnaire you just configured.
Below, we've outlined a few of the common reasons why you might encounter outdated content and what you can do to troubleshoot it.
The common reasons why content might appear outdated are that:
- You didn't publish to Staging or Production
- Your browser shows a cached version of your content
- The recipient you're testing with doesn't match the Conditions for the dynamic content block where you made your changes
- You forgot to save
You didn't publish to Staging or Production
Some content changes, such as changing as an image, require that you publish to the environment you're working on for them to take full effect. This would mean publishing to Staging if you're still testing and publishing to Production if you experience outdated content on Production.
Learn how to Publish to Staging here.
Learn how to Publish to Production here.
Your browser shows a cached version of your content
A browser cache is a temporary storage location on your computer for files downloaded by your browser to display websites. This ensures that your computer doesn't have to download the same images and other content every single time you visit the same website.
However, this also means that you might see an outdated version of your Agillic instance which was saved by your browser cache. To check that your browser cache isn't the reason why you're seeing outdated content, clear your browser's cache and refresh the page.
The recipient you're testing with doesn't match the Conditions for the dynamic content block where you made changes
When testing with a recipient, be careful of when your changed content is part of a dynamic content block such as a Promotion Block, Multi-Content Block, One-to-many Table Block, and so on. The reason why you're seeing outdated content could be because your test recipient doesn't match the Conditions needed to view the correct variation of your Dynamic Content Block.
Make sure that your test recipient has the necessary data to get the correct version or create a new test recipient with the correct data.
Learn about the different Content Blocks here.
You forgot to save
If you forget to save, you will lose any changes you've made since the last time you saved.
To check for the last time a communication was saved, you can look at the bottom-right corner of your communication. Here, you can see the communication's last modified date.
An email created on the 26-06-2017 where the last modified date was 10-09-2018
Suggested Next Steps