If you’d like to clear your Agillic instance of items that haven’t been used in a long time, you can use the Clean Up feature. It works by recognising those items and then gives you the option to either delete all of them or select the ones you want to delete. This way, you can work more efficiently in your instance and improve performance.
The Clean Up feature is located in 'Settings' within 'System Settings' and is only available on Staging. Therefore, the items you’ve deleted on Staging aren’t deleted on Production until you Publish the changes from Staging to Production.
Note: Access to the Clean Up feature can be hidden behind the Agillic Profile Management tool within Settings.
The Clean Up feature is located within System Settings in Settings
In this article, you'll find information about:
- When an item is counted as 'inactive'
- How to find and delete inactive items
When an item is counted as 'inactive'
As the Clean Up feature allows you to delete items which are inactive, it's important to understand when and how items are classified as inactive.
The inactive period is determined by considering the last run date and the last modified date. The modified date is only checked on Staging, whereas the last run date is only checked on Production. This means that any Flow executions on Staging won’t impact the last run date. For Target Groups, the inactive period is determined by the last modified date only.
Besides the last run date and the last modified date, the items are checked for references. References are checked on both Staging and Production. References relate to if the item has been referenced within other items, such as emails being used in Flows.
Note: In general, only items present on Staging will appear on the Clean Up list.
Only items related to configuration parts of a campaign will be possible to delete with the Clean Up feature. No activity data related to the recipients will be deleted.
For Flows, the last run date is the last execution on Production. A scheduled Flow could still be classified as inactive if it hasn't been executed within the selected inactive period. This could for example be a Christmas Flow that is scheduled to send out every December. Even if the Flow is scheduled, it could appear on the list of inactive items if it hasn't been executed within the chosen inactive period.
Flows can't be deleted if they only use data-, export-, split-, and wait Steps. Flows can't be deleted if there are recipients in a wait for date, wait for period, or wait for activity Step. A Flow can't be deleted if a Proposition and/or Step is referenced.
For Promotions, the last run date is the newest evaluation date of any non-deleted Proposition. A Promotion can't be deleted if a Proposition and/or Step is referenced.
How to find and delete inactive items
Once you enter the Clean Up feature, you can configure the inactive period and select which items you’d like to delete by checking checkboxes. Only items where it’s possible to gauge whether they are inactive will appear here. If you want to delete other items, such as webpages, Person Data, or Global data, you have to do so directly.
Tip: We recommend you do a publish to Production, in case of recent deletions, before running a cleanup.
Choosing Inactive period and selecting items to delete
Within the inactive period, it's possible to delete items that haven't been active in three to 24 months. You can choose between the following inactive periods: 3 months or more, 6 months or more, 12 months or more, and 24 months or more.
Selecting what items to delete
By default, every item is selected for clean up. Simply deselect items you don't want to include in the clean up.
When starting the cleanup feature, it's possible to choose between two options for each item type:
- Get a list of all items to manually select
- When manually selecting items to delete, the Clean Up feature will generate an alphabetical list. If there are lots of items in the list, it will be split into multiple pages of 250 items. You then review the first page of 250 items before moving on to the next.
- The list groups default names and auto-generated names as a single option. Agillic will generate a default name for each item created until you hereafter rename it.
- The list for manual selection shows the name of the item, created, last modified and last run. Each timestamp will have to be older than the selected period (3-24 months) in order to appear on the list. By default, every item is selected for clean up. If you want to deselect all of them, click on the blue selection tick button in the header of the item table.
- Delete all
- This option has individual checkboxes for default names, auto-generated names, and custom made names.
The Clean Up feature will go through one item type at a time and will then show the total of inactive items within that category. The number of options within Delete all will depend on the item type.
Manually selecting items to delete / Delete all
Manually selecting what items to delete
Clean up job process
Once you’ve selected the items you wish to delete, click ‘Delete selected items’ and the deletion job will start. A progress bar will appear on the screen.
Once the Clean Up job has started, it can not be cancelled. You can close the tab at any time or refresh the page, and the Clean Up feature will state if a Clean Up job is currently running or when the last Clean Up was run and by who. It's only possible to use the Clean Up feature one user at a time and it will be stated if another user is currently using the Clean Up feature.
Clean up job in process
Clean up job completion
Once the Clean Up job is complete, a confirmation will appear with the option to move on to the next selected item type. The Clean Up feature checks each item type after the previous deletion job. It may be that some of the items couldn’t be deleted because of unforeseen references.
Once the deletion job is complete for all the selected item types, a confirmation message is shown, summarising the number of items deleted.
Clean up job completion
Publish the changes to Production
In order to add these changes to Production, you will need to Publish to Production.